Sports Star Awards Winners Revealed

Sports Star Awards Winners Revealed

The Leitrim Sports Star Awards 2018 took place on Saturday last November 24th in the Landmark Hotel, Carrick on Shannon. We are delighted to reveal the winners amongst nominees as follows:

Club of the Year:
North Leitrim Athletic Club
Glenfarne Kiltyclogher GAA Club
Sean Mac Dermott Boxing Club
South Leitrim Special Olympics
Joint winners: Glenfarne Kiltyclogher GAA Club & South Leitrim Special Olympics

Sports Individual Senior:
Gavin Donnelly - Pool
Gerard O'Donnell - Athletics
Donnacha Holmes - Ironman
Dearbhile Beirne - Soccer
Mark Plunkett – Gaelic Football
Breege Connolly – Athletics
Joint Winners: Gerard O'Donnell & Breege Connolly

Sports Individual Junior:
Muireann Devaney
Hannah Johnson
Dearbhla Rooney
Niamh Carolan
Matthew Early
Tom Gilheaney
Winner: Dearbhla Rooney

Juvenile Team of the Year:
St Clare's Comprehensive Junior Girls GAA Team
St Brigids Minor Ladies Gaelic Team
Manor Rangers u15 boys team
St Marys Gaelic Minor Team
Winners: St Clare's Comprehensive Junior Girls GAA Team

Team of the Year:
Carrick Hurling Team
Aughawillian Gaeilc Football Team
Fenagh Gaelic Football Team
St Josephs Ladies Gaelic Football Team
Winners: Carrick Hurling Team

Sports School of the Year:
St Clares National School Manorhmailton
St Josephs National School
Gaelscoil Liatroma (Caitriona Nic Chonchradha)
Drumshanbo Vocational School
St Patricks N.S. Drumshanbo
Winners: Drumshanbo Vocational School

Special Achievement Award:
Wynne Brothers - Running
Michelle Lannon - Irish Masters over 45 team
Beirnes - Irelands's Fittest Family
Leitrim Pool Team
Winners: Beirnes - Irelands's Fittest Family

Volunteer of The Year:
John Lowe
Leo Duignan
Ann Mulvaney
John Gilligan
Paddy O'Connor
Winner: John Lowe

Unsung Hero WINNER – Dessy Doyle

Hall of Fame WINNER – Tommy Moran
Leitrim’s Sports Person of the Year 2018: Dearbhla Rooney

Congratulations to each and every one on being nominated for a Leitrim Sports Star Award, your dedication and hard work in sport is being recognised.
Each winner received a specially handcrafted award presented by each of our generous sponsors.

Our special guest on the night was Irish Ladies Hockey captain Katie Mullen.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsors for their generous support – Leitrim County Council, The Landmark Hotel, Aura Leitrim Leisure, Leitrim County Enterprise Fund , Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, First Response Safety Training, Leitrim Observer, Newtowngore Engineering, Leitrim Physiotherapy and DPS design and print service.