Sports Star Awards Nominees Announced

Sports Star Awards Nominees Announced

The Leitrim Sports Star Awards 2019 will be held on Saturday November 23rd in Lough Rynn Castle Hotel, Mohill, Co. Leitrim. We are delighted to reveal the shortlisted nominees as follows:

Sports Individual - Senior
Eanna Madden Athletics
Michelle Heslin GAA
Gerard O’Donnell Athletics
Niall Morahan Soccer
Colm Moreton Hurling
Teresa Doherty Athletics
Thomas Early Rowing

Sports Individual – Junior
Muireann Devaney Manorhamilton FC
Gareth Gilmartin Vollyball
Allannah McGuinness Carrick AC
Jennifer Andrews Athletics
Shane Mallon Rugby
Matthew Early Rugby
Sarah Brady Athletics
Charlie Richards Angling

Juvenile Team of the Year
Manorhamilton Rangers U16 Soccer
Annaduff Feile Team GAA
Leitrim U17 Hurlers Hurling
Melvin Gaels U12 Girls Team LGFA

St Mary’s U17 GAA

Glencar-Manor U12 girls LGFA

Team of the Year
Leitrim Hurlers Senior Team Hurling
St Josephs Ladies GAA
Leitrim Gaels GAA
Leitrim Senior Football Team GAA
Glencar-Manor GAA GAA

Primary School Sports Teacher
Michelle Kelly Drumshanbo NS
Laura Tully Difreen NS
Edel McCartin Drumeela NS
Catriona Nic Conchradha Gaelscoil Liatroma

Secondary School Sports Teacher
Anthony McDonald St Clares Comp
Aidan Shannon Drumshanbo
Denise Stenson Ballinamore
Niamh Gallagher St Clares

Club of the Year
Glencar-Manorhamilton GAA
Carrick Town FC
Leitrim Down Syndrome Group
Carrick Rowing Club
Drumsna Boxing Club

Volunteer of the Year
James Junior Hazlett Coaching / Soccer
Mark Kelly Photography / Tri Club
Siobhan Greene Drumsna Boxing Club
Aidan & Eileen Donohoe Community work / Cloone GAA

Coach of the Year
Terry Highland Leitrim GAA
Ray McBrien St Josephs Ladies Gaelic
Niamh Gallagher St Clares Comprehensive
Roger Connoly Manor Rangers
Kieran Fox / Shane Ward GAA
Martin Cunniffe Leitrim Hurling

Special Achievements Awards
Paul Brady Cumman na mBunscoil
Flo Beo Swimming
Mark McGowan Ironman
Francis Flynn GAA
Carrie McDaid Swimming

Hall of Fame - Micky Martin GAA

Leitrim’s Sports Person of the Year 2019. The winner to be announced on the night!

The winner of the Leitrim Sports Person of the Year Award has been chosen from one of the above shortlisted nominees. Congratulations to each and every one on being nominated for a Leitrim Sports Star Award, your dedication and hard work in sport is being recognised.
Each winner will receive a specially handcrafted award presented by each of our generous sponsors.

A special night of celebration is planned by Leitrim Sports Partnership with a 4 course meal being served, followed by the awards and special guests.

Our special guest on the night will be adventurer Jason Black.

MC for the evening will be sports reporter John Lynch.

Should anyone wish to come along to support the nominees and enjoy what promises to be an excellent night of celebration you can purchase a ticket for €40.00 by calling Leitrim Sports Partnership on 071 9650498 or emailing us on

We would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsors for their generous support – Leitrim County Council, The Landmark Hotel, Aura Leitrim Leisure, Leitrim County Enterprise Fund , Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, First Response Safety Training, Leitrim Observer, Leitrim Physiotherapy, FitKicks Mohill, Opera Ristorante & Four Seasons Carrick Accomadation and DPS design and print service.