Sports Star Awards Nominees

Sports Star Awards Nominees

The Leitrim Sports Star Awards 2018 will be held on Saturday November 24th in the Landmark Hotel, Carrick on Shannon.

We are delighted to reveal the shortlisted nominees as follows:

Club of the Year:
North Leitrim Athletic Club
Glenfarne Kiltyclogher GAA Club
Sean Mac Dermott Boxing Club
Leitrim Special Olympics

Sports Individual Senior:
Gavin Donnelly - Pool
Gerard O'Donnell - Athletics
Donnacha Holmes - Ironman
Dearbhile Beirne - Soccer
Mark Plunkett – Gaelic Football
Breege Connolly – Athletics

Sports Individual Junior:
Muireann Devaney
Hannah Johnson
Dearbhla Rooney
Niamh Carolan
Matthew Early
Tom Gilheaney

Juvenile Team of the Year:
St Clare's Comprehensive Junior Girls GAA Team
St Felims Minor Ladies Gaelic Team
Manor Rangers u15 boys team
St Marys Gaelic Minor Team

Team of the Year:
Carrick Hurling Team
Aughawillian Gaeilc Football Team
Fenagh Gaelic Football Team
St Josephs Ladies Gaelic Football Team

Sports School of the Year:
St Clares National School Manorhmailton
St Josephs National School
Gaelscoil Liatroma (Caitriona Nic Chonchradha)
Drumshanbo Vocational School
St Patricks N.S. Drumshanbo

Special Achievement Award:
Wynne Brothers - Running
Michelle Lannon - Irish Masters over 45 team
Beirnes - Irelands's Fittest Family
Leitrim Pool Team

Volunteer of The Year:
John Lowe
Leo Duignan
Ann Mulvaney
John Gilligan
Paddy O'Connor

Unsung Hero WINNER – Dessy Doyle

Hall of Fame WINNER – Tommy Moran
Leitrim’s Sports Person of the Year 2018. The winner to be announced on the night!

The winner of the Leitrim Sports Person of the Year Award has been chosen from one of the above shortlisted nominees. Congratulations to each and every one on being nominated for a Leitrim Sports Star Award, your dedication and hard work in sport is being recognised.
Each winner will receive a specially handcrafted award presented by each of our generous sponsors.

A special night of celebration is planned by Leitrim Sports Partnership with a 4 course meal being served, followed by the awards and special guests.

Our special guest on the night will be Irish Ladies Hockey captain Katie Mullen.

MC for the evening will be sports reporter John Lynch.

Should anyone wish to come along to support the nominees and enjoy what promises to be an excellent night of celebration you can purchase a ticket for €40.00 by calling Leitrim Sports Partnership on 071 9650498 or emailing us on

We would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsors for their generous support – Leitrim County Council, The Landmark Hotel, Aura Leitrim Leisure, Leitrim County Enterprise Fund , Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, First Response Safety Training, Leitrim Observer, Newtowngore Engineering, Leitrim Physiotherapy and DPS design and print service.